Melissa Riggio: “I Have Down Syndrome: Know Me Before You Judge Me”

 

Melissa Riggio- Photograph by Annie Griffiths Belt

This is a page-long National Geographic article in which Melissa shares her dreams and also her life with the genetic condition Down Syndrome.

To access:

I Have Down Syndrome–Know Me Before You Judge Me

Here’s a poem by Melissa:

Love is a potion

Love is everything

Love is all around

Love is not hopeless

Love is a passion

Love will not stop

Love is an ocean

 

Here’s her weblog, on which we are given the very sad news that Melissa has died.

To access: Melissa Ann Riggio: 1988-2008

Allow her words, from the article and from the poems, to inspire you. Here’s another of her poems:

The Ring

I’m in the Ring outside
I’m following my belief
I’m looking at the sky
I saw God following my heart
I’m an ordinary woman

The Ring is falling down my way
The wind is blowing me away
The Ring is falling down,
Down my way
The wind is blowing me away

And so I came back to
The center of the Ring
Am I just a broken angel?
God has sent me here to heal
To be an ordinary woman.

 

1 Response to “Melissa Riggio: “I Have Down Syndrome: Know Me Before You Judge Me””


  1. 1 Ansley April 14, 2016 at 9:58 PM

    Wow… That is very inspiring and sad. I love her story😭

    Like


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 107,405 hits
October 2014
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

