Eastern Orthodox Foundation

In 2006 I visited the Eastern Orthodox Foundation in the hills of western Pennsylvania with my “koum” (Serbian for Godfather) Bill Yovanovich and toured the facilities, briefly meeting the people, and enjoyed an interview with Fr. George Hnatko. The Foundation struggled to meet state requirements for personal care facilities, which have become nearly impossibly stringent for smaller facilities, according to Bill Yovanovich, formerly a person of authority with the Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare, and who has been involved in the Personal Care Resource Center & Grassroots Coalition. There was a good and peaceful feel to this mission, testifying to the Holy Spirit’s Presence there. God will provide- through all of us! Here was their missions statement from their website:

The Eastern Orthodox Foundation, (EOF), is a private, charitable non-profit organization. It’s purpose is to follow the teachings of our Lord when He said, “For I was an hungered, and ye give me meat; I was thirsty, and ye gave’ me drink; I was a stranger, and ye ‘took me in; naked and ye clothed me; I was sick and ye visited me; I was in prison and ye came unto me.” Verily I say unto you, in as much as ye have done it unto one of the least of my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”  Matthew 25:35 – 39, 40  We do this by the following means:     

A. To engage in charitable work for providing aid to the sick and aged, the disabled and handicapped;

B. To improve the condition in life of all persons who are disadvantaged, irrespective of race, color, creed or national origin;

C. The corporation shall not participate in political campaigns nor attempt to influence legislation by propaganda or otherwise. Upon dissolution of the corporation, all assets then possessed by it shall be distributed to charitable, educational, religious and health agencies.

To accomplish these goals EOF offers a variety of services. Although we call our selves a transitional living center, the majority of our people come to us from off the streets and are in need of food, shelter and clothing and other services, designed to help them secure a more permanent living arrangement.

Update

Sadly, the Eastern Orthodox Foundation found it could not afford to meet Pennsylvania’s cumbersome regulations and the transitional living center had to close their doors. The Foundation also had an Assisted Living Center for Senior Citizens on the same campus, named Cherryhill Manor,  and may still be running. For Info: Eastern Orthodox Foundation: Cherryhill Manor?

Indiana Gazette: Eastern Orthodox Foundation to close shelter doors

 

2 Responses to “Eastern Orthodox Foundation”


  1. 1 Alida Cornelius November 9, 2008 at 2:59 PM

    I volunteered teaching arts and crafts for almost three years at the Foundation. I wish I would have known they were having problems before they had to close. I would have done everything in my power to help prevent their closing.

    Like

  2. 2 Childcare centre in Singapore December 11, 2013 at 9:42 PM

    hi!,I love your writing so so much! percentage we keep up a correspondence more
    about your post on AOL? I require an expert in this space to resolve my problem.
    May be that is you! Looking forward to look you.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 107,405 hits
January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

