the Theotokos: harp & King’s palace

“She saw the Magi:  her songs increased at their offerings; “Lo! Thy worshippers have surrounded me, yea thy offerings have encircled me.  Blessed be the Babe who made His Mother a harp for His words:

“And as the harp waiteth for its master, my mouth waiteth for Thee.  May the tongue of Thy Mother bring what pleases Thee; and since I have learnt a new Conception by Thee, let my mouth learn in Thee, O new born Son, a new song of praise. Icon Of The Mother Of God Of The Sign

“And if hindrances are no hindrances to Thee, since difficulties are easy to Thee, as a womb without marriage conceived Thee, and a belly without seed brought Thee forth, it is easy for a little mouth to multiply Thy great glory.

“Lo! I am oppressed and despised, and yet cheerful:  mine ears are filled with reproof and scorn; and it is a small thing to me to bear, for ten thousand troubles can a single comfort of Thine chase away.

“And since I am not despised by Thee, O Son, my countenance is bright; and I am slandered for having conceived, and yet have brought forth the Truth who justifies me.  For if Tamar was justified by Judah, how much more shall I be justified by Thee!” (Hynm 10) . . .

The Son of the Most High came and dwelt in me, and I became His Mother; and as by a second birth I brought Him forth so did He bring me forth by the second birth, because He put His Mother’s garments on, she clothed her body with His glory. (Hymn 11) . . .

A King’s palace she was by Thee, O Son of the King, and a Holy of Holies by Thee, O High Priest!” (Hymn 12)

From St. Ephrem the Syrian’s “Hymns of the Nativity 10-12. http://www.ccel.org/ccel/schaff/npnf213.iii.v.xi.html

Icon (a weeping icon!) from http://www.serfes.org/spiritual/january2005.htm

0 Responses to “the Theotokos: harp & King’s palace”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 107,405 hits
December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

